College Football Playoffs

WeSawIT September 1, 2014 Comments Off on College Football Playoffs

For years, many have struggled to understand the mathematical process for determining the old BCS Championship series. Calls for a playoff system in college football have long been a wish by all.

In the new College Football Playoffs system, four teams will be picked by a selection committee of 13 people. The committee is made up of current and former college football people, many of whom are athletic directors. The No. 1 team will play the No. 4 team in one semifinal. The No. 2 team will play the No. 3 team in the other semifinal.

The Sugar Bowl will host one of the first semifinal games in the new College Football Playoff postseason format on January 1, 2015. In addition to 2015, the Allstate Sugar Bowl will host semifinal games in 2018, 2021 and 2024.

The 101st Rose Bowl Game will be a College Football Playoff semifinal game which will be held on January 1, 2015 at the Rose Bowl Stadium.

The Football Playoff Championship will be played on January 12, 2015 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, TX.

The selection committee will meet once a week, and start releasing a weekly top-25 ranking on October 28th. The committee will rank the top 25 teams in the country and assign teams to the semifinals and to the Cotton, Fiesta and Peach Bowls in years when they are not hosting semifinal games. The committee will identify small groups of teams that will then be evaluated against each other. The committee will then vote the teams into the rankings in a combined selection-and-seeding process.

Share on Facebook

Comments are closed.